A Question for God

Awhile back a friend of mine and I were having a discussion about what if we could ask God one thing what would we ask Him.  In this same conversation, she asked me if I could, as well, ask God for one thing what would I ask for.  It was sort of a hypothesis based on the story of Solomon in the OT and how he asked God for wisdom.  Well, I decided that if I could ask God to give me one thing (of an abstract, non-material kind) I would ask Him for peace.

Why peace?  Well, I’m one of those anxious, stuck-in-my-head-too-often kind of girls.  I think though that it is very hard to have consistent peace living in southern California, surrounded by traffic, traffic, more traffic, and media images of all sorts.  It’s a crazy world.

The first question of what I would ask God is not an original one.  After all, you hear all sorts of people joke about what they  are going ask God when they get to heaven and even some who are not joking.  I remember a time in my life where I would have said, “well, I wouldn’t ask God anything. He’s God and He owes me nothing.”  This is true but I think I prided myself that I would be so “spiritual” to not ask God a thing and this would mean I really loved him.  I think my thoughts since then, thank God, have metamorphosed.  I do believe that God is God and that He owes me nothing, but I think that I have found, over time, I have many questions I’d like to ask God.  These are not the sorts of questions one asks with fists raised towards heaven but rather my feeble heart wanting understanding where there has been left but a dim light.  I have many questions over the meanings of so many sayings of Jesus.  Jesus is hard to understand sometimes.  Actually,I think many of my questions are in regards to Scripture.  Most ardently though I think I would want to know:  What does it mean that the gates of hell will not prevail against the Church?  It seems, however one defines the ‘church’, this statement seems only half-true.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying the Scripture is not true or something like that.  I am just saying that often I don’t understand the reality I live on earth and the heavenly kingdom reality and how and where they intersect. 

Hmm….so I guess when I come before God one day, maybe I will get a chance to ask Him my questions.  Maybe one day I will be graced with illumination to understand so many of the things I question and struggle over.  May God grant me, a sinner, many years!

One Response

  1. I do understand what you’ve said here.

    Not to play God, but if I may offer some interpretive light on the Church question? I’m pretty sure the statement of Christ that the gates of Hell will not prevail against the church is talking about how the story ends. It assumes, not that Satan will never get anywhere, but rather that he’s going to mount a massive offensive. It’s not in the text, but I would assume there would be human casualties. But the adversary will not ultimately prevail against the Church.

    That still leaves us asking, of course, what that means precisely. What is it that the Church is meant to be or do or both, that Satan will not be able to stop her from doing or being or both? I think we know some things about this, but, “Eye has not seen nor ear heard, nor has it entered into the hearts of men what God has prepared for those who love him.” Surely to be found in the image of Christ, to be so united to him that we are said to be His very body…that is one thing that Hell cannot stop us from enjoying. For if God is for us, who can be against us?

    I hope that wasn’t too pompous. As it happens I’ve been thinking about this one, too, lately.

Leave a Reply

