Inspite of my Insistent Irritation..Happy Easter

This last week, I’ve continued to be irritated by the fact that the Orthodox (which I claim to be a part of) and rest of Christendom celebrate Easter on different dates most years. 

I’ve been spending the last two days reading up as to why and the arguments on both sides.  My irritation mostly is aimed at the Orthodox church as I continue to see cultural problems, specifically in America, coming to the forefront of my mind.  Lord have mercy!

A good overview can be found here (taken from the GOA website).  Here is an exert of the introduction that I found myself giving a hearty amen to:

“The long-awaited common celebration of Pascha on April 15, 2001 by all Christians has come and gone. It was in 1990 when this coincidence last occurred and will be in 2004 when it occurs again. In anticipation of this common observance by all Christians, much was said and written. What was stressed was the need to keep alive the momentum of the occasion. Unless we all understand the significance of this event, it will remain nothing more than a peculiarity of the calculations related to the date of Pascha. In one sense, that is what it is. But in another sense, it is the convergence of all that we as Christians in the East and West profess regarding the centrality of the Resurrection of Jesus Christ as the cornerstone of our faith.

Nothing challenges the credibility of this fact to non-believers more than the scandal of our division on this point of celebration.” (emphasis mine)

Here is the rest if you want to read it.

To the rest of Christendom, I say “Christ is Risen! Glorify Him!” Happy Resurrection Day.

Pray for the rest of your brothers and sisters walking East that continue in Lent.

7 Responses

  1. Jenn,

    You alluded to irritation with the Orthodox on this matter, if I may be so bold to ask what you would like to see happen on this. Not to denigrate the issue, it is important, but I’m much more concerned that our in-house issues (which include the calender) be resolved. Reality is, aside from some in the Latin communion, most Christians could care less when the feast falls, as Fr. Hunneycut says, “They celebrate Easter according to Hallmark.” My father, a Baptist minister, lacking insight on the topic, thinks it just be celebrated at Passover (whenever that is).

    Hang in there! Pascha is coming!

  2. Thanks for your comment aaron! What would I like to see happen? Well, I would like to see the Orthodox celebrate Easter with the rest of Christendom. I think there is this misconception that we have it “right” and we’re the ones who are adhering to the original dating but, given research, that is not necessarily true. I won’t go into details here because it’s just too lengthy. I do agree with you though that our in-house issues (inc the calendar) are much more of a concern to me. BTW, Pascha is dated according to Passover….it is the Sunday following.

    Thanks for dropping in! It can get lonely on my blog. =)

  3. Jen, i understand the Pascha/Passover connection. My father thinks it should be the SAME weekend as Passover. Good times. You understand though, that the main reason (as i understand it) that we celebrate Pascha on a different dating method is primarily to ensure that at the very least we are celebrating together (i.e. all Orthodox faithful). Change happens slowly here and in fact, i must confess my personal opinion is that we should have left the calender alone, rather than create one more issue of contention in-house.

    Regarding my visit to your blog, next to Sara’s blog, I check your blog the most out of any other.

  4. oops, i was signed in under Sara’s account.

  5. I know, I know, I know. It annoys me too. Although hearing our Bishop explain how the date was worked out 1700 years ago (or something like that) so that everyone was celebrating at the same time, and how the council decided to accept that date for everyone, and how we can’t change the council’s decision until another council is held (still waiting for that one) it makes some sense.

    In New South Wales Australia the ecumenical council of churches invited young people from around the state to participate in Orthodox holy week services at a different chosen orthodox church each night. Called the Pilgrimage of Resurrection

    I think it’s a fabulous idea. And I think it would help to feel that we were celebrating together. Heaps more info http://www.abc.net.au/rn/spiritofthings/stories/2008/2193009.htm

  6. Thanks Sarah for the link! This sounds fascinating to me. I love that idea of calling it the “pilgrimage of resurrection.” In my evangelical days, I would have totally participated in this! How did you come across my blog?

  7. I clicked on one blog to the next. I think I started at http://www.wibsite.com/wiblog/ian otherwise known as Exploring Orthodoxy to somewhere else to Orthodox Mom to Akathistos to here (I think).

    Our Bishop did say one more thing that I remembered today and helps me. Celebrating Christ’s resurrection began and continued right from 33 A.D. so this is something that we don’t change without a council. Christmas on the other hand is a tradition started much later and so can be changed, so it can be changed to Dec 25th to match everyone else.

Leave a Reply

