Second Grade Sillies

So here are a few highlights of silliness that I encountered this week in my second grade classroom:

Silly 1:  I overheard a kid trying to read the word “determine” today and he pronounced it “deeturmiine.”  Literally he said confidently, ‘dee’ ‘tur’ mine’. I couldn’t help but bust out in a chuckle before I corrected him. =)

Silly 2:  A kid told me, “I know you’re first name….it’s Jennifer.”  Then another kid looked straight out me in awe and said “Jennifer Lopez?”  Again, I laughed.

Silly 3:  We are reading stories about amazing animals right now.  The class can participate in our theme by bringing things about amazing animals.  To my surprise I was met with two pets in one day in my classroom:  a hamster named Pepsi and a baby python named Moguhlee.  We were sure to keep these two animals on the opposite sides of the room lest the python eat Pepsi for lunch. =) You may witness the mini zoo below.

7 Responses

  1. My daughter is in 2nd grade. Are you a public school teacher?

  2. yes, I teach 2nd grade at a public school =)

  3. How is that working out for you? Are you single, or married? Do you have any children yourself?

  4. I’ve been teaching for the past 8 years. I’m still single and don’t have any children of mine as of yet. =) Hopefully one day.

  5. Forgive me for asking, but why do you want to have your own children?

  6. I have wanted to be a mother for as long as I can remember. I realize being a mother involves great sacrifice but I think it is such a priviledge to rear a young soul in this world. Children are a gift from God.

  7. Jen, why do you want to be a mother? You can adopt a child. You don’t have to bring another child into the world. Children are starving in Africa. You could even sponsor a child.

Leave a Reply

