When all else fails, get the little red book

The red book I’m referring to would be the Pocket Prayer Book for Orthodox Christians.  I just got a call from my mom a bit ago that my great Aunt had passed away.  I hadn’t seen her in a very long time and she lived a long life of 85 years.  It was a surprise and not a surprise at the same time.  It wasn’t a surprise because I knew she was getting old and frail, and even had a hard time getting around, if at all.  It was a surprise because my Grandmother had just visited her this week and told me how much better she seemed to be.  Anyhow, the point of writing about this I guess was to mention that I was faced with what to do when you don’t know what to do or say.  I didn’t necessarily cry because I suppose she was distant from me.  But, I wanted to do something.  So I found great comfort and peace, in pulling out my red little prayer book and praying the prayer for the dead and the Trisagion for the dead.  Years ago, I would have never thought of doing something like this when someone died.  I’m not sure what I would have done, probably nothing.  Beyond this, I don’t have a clue, to my own shame, what the state of my Great Aunt’s soul was.  I found comfort in entrusting her to God through prayer, even though I have no idea of her own spiritual state.

Into thy hands, O Lord, I commend the soul of thy servant, N., and beseech thee to grant them rest in the place of thy rest, where all thy blessed Saints repose, and where the light of thy countenance shineth forever.  And I beseech thee also to grant that our present lives may be godly, sober, and blameless, that we too may be made worthy to enter into Thy heavenly Kingdom with those we love but see no longer:  for Thou art the Resurrection, and the Life, and the Repose of thy departed servants, O Christ our God, and unto thee we ascribe glory:  to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit; now and ever, and unto ages of ages. Amen. (A Prayer for the Dead)

May Christ, our true God, who hath dominion over the living and the dead:  through the intercessions of his all-immaculate and all-blameless holy Mother; of our venerable and God-bearing Fathers;and all the Saints, establish the soul of his servant, N., departed this life, in his holy mansions, and number him/her among the Just; and have mercy upon us; forasmuch as He is good and loveth mankind…(Benediction of the Trisagion for the Dead)

One Response

  1. I’m so sorry Jenni. I hope that the rest of your family also experiences peace and comfort in this time. I love you

Leave a Reply

