Should Santa get the boot?

I’m not sure but Frederica seems to have a strong opinion regarding giving Santa the boot. Not sure what I think about the jolly man, but I grew up believing in him and seemed to turn out somewhat normal.  I don’t have a complex or problem with God because of Santa but it seems that this whole Santa thing continues to be a Christian controversy.  Hmm, interesting.  Good thing I can think about these things before bringing my own munchkins into the world.=)

3 Responses

  1. This was so interesting to think about. YIKES! I’ve always been a big defender of Santa because of how precious my childhood memories are. And I never felt that his role trumped Christ’s birth during Christmas as a child. I guess it’s a matter of how you incorporate Santa into your home.

    Thanks Jen for just one more thing to add to the list of “how am I going to parent well so that I don’t have to pay for massive therapy!”

  2. Fr. Joseph of the Orthodixie Podcast and blog is aware of Frederica’s view and disagrees.

    See his podcasts from November 30 and December 7.

    http://ancientfaith.com/podcasts/orthodixie/

    I think it’s up for debate and both perspectives have valid points to consider.

    St. Nicholas, pray to God for us!

  3. Good topic.

    My comment appears in the form of a post on my blog: http://papaherman.wordpress.com/2007/12/23/re-santa/

Leave a Reply

