Little Nuggets of Inspiration

I have wanted to post here lately but couldn’t think what to blog.  I thought I might just list some things that give me a bit of inspiration these days.

Number 1:  A friend of mine introduced me to this fabulous band called “Over the Rhine.”  I have been especially enjoying the album entitled “Drunkard’s Prayer” and “Live from Nowhere, vol 1.”  Check them out if you love realness in lyrics and creative composition.  www.overtherhine.com

Number 2:  I have finally given in and begun to read the Harry Potter series.  I actually have found the writing of J.K. Rowling to be lovely treasure.  I think that parts of my brain that were depleated of creative juices have actually begun to come alive.  I find this especially true when it comes to creative writing with my little second graders.  After all, I have to model and sometimes, in the past, have had a very hard time doing this.  I think that J.K. Rowling is one of most gifted modern authors with her creation of the Harry Potter series.

Number 3:  The movie Freedom Writers gave me a good cry this last weekend.  If you haven’t seen it, it is incredible.  I think that I am slightly biased though seeing as though I am an teacher.  Not only am I a teacher, but I work with a similiar population as Ms. G, I just get them a lot earlier in life.  My job is hopefully foundation and prevention. 

Number 4:  I have begun also reading a book called “When the Heart Waits” by Sue Monk Kidd.  This is about her spiritual journey and I can tell already that I will deeply appreciate her experience.

So, I guess that’s it for now.  Toodles!

One Response

  1. Did you listen to Andrew and Mary’s interview on AFR re. HP??

Leave a Reply

