Evangelicals Make a Run for it!

“Eighty-eight percent of children raised in evangelical homes leave church at the age of eighteen never to return…..”

So today I was on this evangelical “evangelism” site and this was the quote given to sell a person’s book.  While the statement it made is unfortunately true, I found myself frustrasted, even angry, at the assumption behind it.  What I mean by this is, this particular group of Christ claimers are under the assumption that if the kids would just know the ‘true’ gospel then this wouldn’t happen.  Now, of course their gospel is neatly packaged.  It gives you rational steps to figuring out why you need God, “you’re worthless” and then how to get God to hear you, “do it the right way, sincerely, no vain repetitions” and how to fix your problem with God, in one easy step.  BAM!  That’s it, need God, no problem:  follow my test, follow my steps, and then be assurred 100% without a doubt you’re on the highway to heaven.  Wow, I wish it was that simple.  I have found though that life, temporal, physical, and eternal, is a lot more complicated than that.  Yes, did God make a way?  Is that way as easy and nicely packaged as this group makes it?  I don’t know.  I wonder if it is actually this kind of mentality, and the state of evangelical churches/christians like these, that are actually contributing to the mass exodus of kids from the evangelical church?  I know for myself, it is actually things like this, and many people like this, that caused me to jump ship and try and figure out what this Christianity thing was supposed to look like.  Guess what…..it didn’t lead me back to the packaged ‘gospel’…..no it lead me down a different path……towards eastern orthodoxy.  I’m not sure if I’m making sense here but I’m just having a moment…..grr!

If you want to check out what I’m talking about, be my guest!

forgive us Oh Lord!!!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

