The Glory of God is man fully Alive!

“To be united with God within the midst of the Church does not mean that our unique personalities are destroyed. We are not engulfed by an impersonal force or power. As with all love which is true and valuable, God’s love for each of us respects our personhood. His love is not one which destroys. God’s love is one which reveals, elevates, and perfects our true selves. By entering into the life of God, we become the persons we are meant to be. “

-Fr. Thomas Fitzgerald, Spirituality

This quote brings a dose of comfort to my heart.  The Orthodox understanding of God truly follows what one saint said, “the glory of God is man fully alive.”  God is not here to get ‘rid of me’ in a sense.  He is here to purify, refine, unite me with Himself, and thus making me what I was meant to be:  my true self.  For me why this strikes such a powerful chord in me is the fact that before Orthodoxy, a few years ago, I was a part of an abusive church/leadership for 10 years.  One of the things that my experiences with these Christians ingrained into me is a lack of belief that there was anything good in me.  Now, I know that apart from God’s doing, there is not, but my exposure to Orthodox teaching is so helpful.  It is so helpful to the healing of my soul from the ideas of these abusive Christians that God is here not to make me how He created me, but to demolish me and start over.  God puts value on the human person.  God even puts value to our personalities.  He is making us more and more into our true selves, the fullness of our personalities. In a sense, He is bringing us to our potential.  This potential was created by Him.  It is almost as if He sees that He put in us upon creating us in His image. Through His Son, through the Church, by His Spirit, by His strength and grace He has given us the means to reach that potential.

I’m not sure if my thoughts are coming out clear here, but all that to say:  As I am united to Christ, I become more and more alive…….to be that which I was created to be, fully alive!

4 Responses

  1. just happened in….

    Love that msn, fine stuff. All the best….

  2. Dear Sandra,

    I was deeply moved to see your reference to my short artice on Spirituality, especially the reference to St. Irenaeus.

    Your own remarks are right on target. God loves us and calls us to be fully human which is also to be fully united with him in a relationship of love. You are valuable because God has made you and treasures you as a person. Continue to grow in his love and service!

    Orthodoxy celebrates and proclaims the God of love and the dignity of the person created in his image and likeness!

  3. thanks for stopping by! I actually was the one who made reference to your short article. Thank you again for stopping by my blog!

  4. YES, THANK YOU RIGHT ON ! THRU HIS GLORY WILL SHINE PAST DISGRACE THE FLESH OF SELF AND BE GLORIFIED BY GRACE OF GOD WE ANTICIPATE HIS GLORY TO BE REVEALED IN US AND THRU US AMEN

Leave a Reply

